Type a keyword and hit enter to start searching. Press Esc to cancel.
Audio specialist, sound designer, re-recording mixer, and composer/performer.

Experiments On Human Subjects-Evil Genius

Experiments On Human Subjects-Evil Genius

Mastering. 2018

Experiments On Human Subjects

by Evil Genius

Critically acclaimed experimental jazz-rock trio Evil Genius returns with their second full-length release, Experiments on Human Subjects on Orenda Records. This new collection utilizes an even broader palette of sonic madness, with more extensive through-composed material and traverses vast stylistic terrain with gleeful perversity and scorched-earth impunity. What remains from their 2015 debut Bitter Human is the group’s remarkably nuanced interplay and freedom to glide effortlessly as individual voices united by a common mission.

Experiments On Human Subjects was primarily conceived during the band’s first national tour. Song titles and the associated compositions were derived from personal experiences both on and off the road. The mood and tone shifts frequently from devastatingly hilarious to extremely subdued and occasionally teeters on the edge of oblivion. The Napalm Death-influenced opener, “Skateboarders Versus Security Guards: Double Agents In A Proxy War Between the Forces of Good and Evil,” as well as the static swing of “An Iron Post In A Velvet Footing,” were both inspired by tubist Stefan Kac’s experience working as a security officer in the San Fernando Valley. The looping, mutated disco of “Tour de Stadt” was inspired by a competition between guitarist Max Kutner and several friends  more


releases May 25, 2018

Max Kutner – Guitar, Bass
Stefan Kac – Tuba
Mike Lockwood – Drums


Recorded and Engineered at Seahorse Sound Studios (LA), December 17, 2016 by Samur Khousa
Mixed at Toltec Sound (LA) by Louis Lopez from September 2017 – March 2018
Mastered by Daniel Walter Eaton (LA) in April 2018

Art Design/Layouts by Molly Allis

Produced by Max Kutner, Stefan Kac
Executive Produced by Geena Duran, Lee James Hampton

Tracks 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11 written by Stefan Kac
© Stefan Andrew Lord Kac / Harry Mesomorph Music Publishing (ASCAP)

Tracks 2, 6, 9 written by Max Kutner
© Maxwell Ryan Kutner / Maladept Music (ASCAP)

Track 4 written by Mike Lockwood
© Michael Timothy Lockwood / Bonepocket (ASCAP)

©(P) Orenda Records, 2018