Type a keyword and hit enter to start searching. Press Esc to cancel.
Audio specialist, sound designer, re-recording mixer, and composer/performer.

No Branches Without Trees by Steven van Betten & Andrew Rowan

No Branches Without Trees by Steven van Betten & Andrew Rowan

Mastering. 2021

From the opening instrumental “Calico Basin,” which operates like an overture, to the rapturous tremolo of closer “Last Walk Through the Desert,” No Branches Without Trees is delicately layered with field recordings collected around Blue Diamond, Nevada, population 339, a Census Designated Place tucked in the Red Rock Canyon Conservation Area. These eight heartachingly subtle vignettes unfold like a cherished short story collection, as each song evokes tales of the desert, death and coming of age.

Although Rowan and van Betten are no strangers to the academic side of music—they first met at CalArts in 2010 where Rowan was studying composition and van Betten jazz guitar, No Branches Without Trees embraces a direct emotional connection through tender songs that seamlessly fuse cinematic chamber pop elements to the tried and true folk song tradition.

Despite a decade of collaboration—both as bandmates and as composers for film, animation, and dance choreography—this is their first project as a duo. No Branches Without Trees represents an intuitively kinetic musical connection.


released February 12, 2021

Steven van Betten – Voice, Guitar, Percussion
Andrew Rowan – String Arrangements, Reed Organ, Piano, Celeste
Mona Tian – Violin
Emily Call – Violin
Elizabeth Baba – Viola
April Guthrie – Cello
Zubin Hensler – Synth (Little Boy) & Sound Design (Herman)

Voice and guitar recorded by Brian Saia at Spiderhouse Studios
Strings recorded by Pete Min at Lucy’s Meat Market
Piano and celeste recorded by Guilherme Spina at Roy O. Disney Concert Hall
Mixed by Zubin Hensler at Studio 44 Brooklyn
Mastered by Daniel Eaton at Little Castle Mastering
Photography (Uncompahgre) by Miguel De Leon
Layout and design by Miles Wintner
Videos edited and animated by Luke Williams

All music written and produced by
Steven van Betten (©℗ASCAP) and Andrew Rowan (©℗ASCAP)

Bricoleur Media | katy@bricoleurmedia.com

Hans Wendl Produktion | bit.ly/376PZum
Instrumental versions available